Premed 101 Forums

Question about extracurricular

Hi

I am in 2nd year BMSc.

I was wondering how much extracurricular activities I need for medical school.

I know that it never hurts to have too much extracurriculars, but I was interested in the minimum standard that every medical school applicant should cover.

Roughly how many years (hours) of hospital volunteer experience does one need? It seems almost mandatory that I need to volunteer at a hospital.

Do I have to be heavily involved in different clubs around the campus? And not just a regular club member, is it necessary to secure an executive position?

How much research experience does one need? I heard that this is a great way to meet the profs, but I can't relate how it will help for medical schools unless the research is about medicine.

I saw a lot of my peers travelling abroad to developing countries to volunteer. The other stuffs I can at least try to do, but this is something that is impossible for me due to personal reasons. This worries me because I seem to be the only one who is not (can't really...) doing this. Is it true that doing these kinds of volunteer work really put someone at an advantage over others who only volunteered locally?

I would appreciate all the help I can get.

Thank you in advance.

I'm pretty sure there is no "minimum" to your ECs. Remember quality of quantity. Also,, hospital volunteering is not a requirement at all. Remember why you are volunteering at a hospital: a) easy to get (maybe) B) see what doctors do.

If you are just there selling coffee to visitors for a month, try finding something else to do. At least sell coffee for 3 years, and establish relationships with the staff and/or patients or something.

It would be beneficial to join clubs, but mainly because YOU ENJOY IT! It also shows the ad com that you have other interests.

I know many with no research experience, others with PhDs, and we are all in medicine.