Premed 101 Forums

Lost Highschool student.

Hey so im currently a grade 12 student, and wish to become a doctor. My grade 12 and 11 average are not the greatest. Around 60 percent for sciences,english and math. So my questions are; Do you think i could get into a pre med college in alberta? Should i upgrade my highschool marks? My real goal is to do undergrad at u of s, but i dont think il be able to get it. Please help

Thanks.

With those marks it is likely that you will need to spend at least one year at a community college. You can still take all the required courses at the college for first year and then transfer to your desired university if your marks are decent.

The institution you attend is not such a big deal in Canada (except for the fact that Ontario medical schools and Dalhousie do not count college courses in GPA because of OMSAS). Think of post-secondary as somewhat of a refresher. The best advice I can give you now is to identify why you have weak grades and attempt to overcome this problem in time for post-secondary.

Good luck!

rank native studies at u of a, when i applied i was in the situation as you and ranked sciences, arts and native studies, if you can get it above 70 you'll prob get into u of a native studies and maybe arts, then you can just take science courses (if you want) and transfer into another faculty after first year. i graduated with a bsc, but only completed 10 classes while actually in the bsc program (bare minimum since arts was giving me a yearly scholarship).

Hey so im currently a grade 12 student, and wish to become a doctor. My grade 12 and 11 average are not the greatest. Around 60 percent for sciences,english and math. So my questions are; Do you think i could get into a pre med college in alberta? Should i upgrade my highschool marks? My real goal is to do undergrad at u of s, but i dont think il be able to get it. Please help

Thanks.

Hey,