Premed 101 Forums

Difference between being cut-throat and playing dirty?

Background: I'm a first year university student in the faculty of science, and obviously will be aiming for med/dent/pharm just like the other 12098112356 science students in the world.

I try to be as non cut-throat as possible but I'm getting really tired of people keeping everything a secret; whether it's volunteering, sources for past exams, or information. All I want is a f****** conversation but it's impossible when people are so determined not to give any bits of information to others.

So what would be the difference between those kinds of people, who are actually extremely hypocritical, and those who are competitive to the point where they'll purposely tell them wrong information, 'accidentally' cause a sprained ankle by putting their foot under the victims' whilst walking to class, and use other methods to reduce the competition or hinder the competitors any way possible?

*One case of hypocrisy would be Y asking X "What did they ask during the interview?" and when Z asks Y, Y doesn't tell Z anything.

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As long as it's not a long-term occurance with a cooperative effort, the payoff matrix dictates that always it's better to defect.

You'll meet plenty of various altruistic individuals here on the forum if you're looking for information of that kind. Other than that, you do need an edge if you're looking to get in. It'll become survival of the fittest, but don't let it get to you - find friends who aren't looking to get in or share common activities!

find friends who aren't looking to get in or share common activities!

xD Yeah. I know this one person who is always with her cousin. I knew her before but not her cousin. She's in general science, and her cousin is in engineering and I've become closer to him solely on the fact that we're not competitors >.<

I don't know when I'll snap and start being an ass though :rolleyes: