Premed 101 Forums

Residency in another province

Guest goodgye

Guest goodgye

Hope I'm not bothering all you guys already in med by posting in this forum.

I'm a 4th yr UBC student (hoping to get accepted may 15th!).

My question: If i were to complete my MD undergrad outside of BC (eg. UofM or UofS), would I have any more difficulty getting a residency postion in BC than someone who completed their MD in BC??

(I'd be willing to go out of province to get my MD, but only if i knew i'd be able to come to BC)

Thanks guys

Guest aneliz

There are never any guarantees of where you will end up for residency regardless of where you do your MD. Many of my classmates wanted to stay at UWO for residency, many of them did not match here and are going to other schools/provinces for residency. This happens every year.

Generally, where you end up doing residency has more to do with the quality of your application than where you did med school. That said, you can increase your chances of matching to a particular location by doing electives there and doing them well.

This however still does not offer any guarantees that you will match there...

I wouldn't turn down a med school seat in another province if that was the only acceptance I had... however, doing med school in BC doesn't guarantee that you will get a residency spot there either.

Guest Kirsteen

Hey there,

I agree with what aneliz has said, above. Your first priority at the moment should be to get into medical school, and if you have multiple offers then to figure out which school would be the best fit for you.