Premed 101 Forums

Do i have a decent shot?

Im a undergrad at western. An ontario resident

Considered IP for calgary (military)

First year GPA 3.59...yeah I know

Seccond year GPA 3.9

MCAT i will write this summer got 10 in verbal practice consistently

EC: in the army 2 years (lots of training), 2 years hospital volunteer, hospital coop (shadow surgeons), teaching kids to read at library, in university clubs, volunteer at homeless shelter .

Please be honest

Seccond year GPA 3.9

EC: in the army 2 years (lots of training), 2 years hospital volunteer, hospital coop (shadow surgeons), teaching kids to read at library, in university clubs, volunteer at homeless shelter .

Please be honest

The way you describe your EC and your letter of reference would be quite influential in whether or not you will land an interview. Your GPA (20%) is going to drag you behind a bit, but with a decent attribute score (60%) you will have a shot. Your 10 VR is probably around 50 percentile or a little above 50 percentile, so you are good there. Make sure your top 10 activities shows the 6 attributes they are looking for. I'd apply if I were you.

Seccond year GPA 3.9

Please be honest

Based on the activities you've provided, you will score very low on the research section (worth 10% pre interview), and probably on the lower end for the management section (worth 10% pre interview). A 10 VR will be average, and your GPA will be below average. You should always apply, because you (or anyone here) never really knows how you will score on the subjective sections (worth 70% pre interview - 60 for ECs and 10 for overall) but based on what you've provided, I personally am not convinced that you'll have a strong chance this year; however, since you are only going into third year, you have the potential to be a very strong applicant by the end of your degree if things do not work out first try.