Premed 101 Forums

Bioc 302 vs Bioc 303

Hi, I have a question regarding UBC biochem requirements.

As the title says, I'm deciding between bioc 302 and bioc 303, and I was wondering if I could get some advice.

I already looked up previous threads using search function, but a lot of them were back in year 2005/2006, and I've heard that there have been changes in biochem courses at UBC so I was hoping that someone who took them in recent years could offer their 2 cents.

Class average wise, Bioc 303 seems better but then, those grade distributions can be misleading.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

BIOC303 is a pretty standard pure memorization course if I remember correctly.. at least I found it that way. Quite a bit of writing on the exams though. Having a few different professors teach different parts of the course was nice, if for nothing else but a change in monotonous voice =).

I also had to choose between these two courses. I have no experience with BIOC302, but I can contribute my thoughts about 303.

I disliked having 4 different profs because it made it hard to tailor my studying. In other classes I could use the midterm to predict the types of questions and focus of that particular prof in order to streamline how I studied for the final exam, but you can't do that in BIOC303 because they keep switching.