Premed 101 Forums

What must I do.

thechemist

I got all A's in m undergrad, did my PhD in Chemistry at McGill, and am now post-docing at Harvard Medical School with a Nobel laureate. I've got a bunch publications in good journals and up until recently I wanted to be a professor. Well, that's not going to happen because of this:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/health-science/us-pushes-for-more-scientists-but-the-jobs-arent-there/2012/07/07/gJQAZJpQUW_story.html

So, it's time for med-school.

What I need from this forum is the knowledge of how to augment my CV for the application. Basically, what are they looking for and how can I be that? Ie. should I start volunteering or something?

I not going to write the MCAT, which is why I am thinking McGill, also I'm a Quebec resident

How about the French universities, how good must my French be? Right now, I can speak French like I'm 4.

Anywho, thanks for the advice.

Well, I'm sure you are fully aware that you have some good stats.

Thinking about CV highlights, you need 3 things. Those can't all be chemistry.

Have you done anything social/health related? Sports? Volunteered ever?

You should definitely consider volunteering.

You also can't seem too much like "I'm a great scientist but I want a secure job and I've heard med pays well so let me in! I'm smart". Do whatever you need to look like you are meaningfully exploring what its like to be a doctor and work with people.

Try something hands on. Nursing homes are always looking for people to volunteer with the elderly. You can also do some teaching/tutoring.

I wouldn't bother with the French schools if your french isn't strong. Mine isn't as bad as what you are describing and I wouldn't apply. Some people feel differently. I know many anglos who went to French schools but all of them have extremely fluent french. The application information isn't even available in english.

Thanks all for the advice everyone.