Premed 101 Forums

Assistance Calculating GPA

I am a student from the maritimes and am having difficulty calculating my GPA for admission to Dalhousie.

I have two degrees and my university years look like this;

First Degree

Year 1 - full time (10 courses)

Year 2 - ""

Year 3 - ""

Year 4 - ""

Courses Taken Out of Interest (aka did not know what to do with my life)

Year 5 - 7 courses (four first semester, three second semester).

Second Degree

Year 6 - full time (10 courses)

Year 7 - Five courses first semester

Year 8 - Five courses second semester

Due to the fact I fulfilled all of my electives for my second degree from my first degree, I only had to attend a single semester for each of my last two years (year 7 and 8).

It is a pain because the GPA for my second degree is 3.9 while my first is 3.0.

So for Dalhousie what years would I take into consideration? Would I need to consider three years? And would year five be considered full-time.

I emailed Dal Medicine Admissions about this a little over a month ago but have yet to hear back.

I was hoping someone here may be able to give me a bit of guidance.

There are 2 ways Dal calculates GPA for undergraduate work:

1. Most recent 2 consecutive years of full-time study; for you, since your only full-time year during your second degree is separated from your first degree by non-full-time coursework (10 courses/year), it won't be able to used in this type of calculation. They would have to use the last 2 years of your first degree, which might not make the GPA cut-off. Though it is likely they won't use a 2-year calculation at all since your most recent 2 years of study aren't 10courses/year. Furthermore, each of these 2 years would have to have a GPA of 3.3/4