Premed 101 Forums

Where to learn more about ER Programs

ER scrub

Hi,

I've tried to read up as much as I could on this site regarding Emerg Programs and still have many questions. Instead of asking 100 questions, I was hoping someone could point me in the right directon/direct me to resources so I can figure stuff out on my own (and who knows, hopefully post my findings here for others).

I'm entering third year in the next couple of months so I am trying to plan out electives and learn more about different programs. Let's assume I don't know anything about the differences between residency programs at Canadian schools (best? worst? - what makes a program good/bad), which schools require on-site electives for interviews, or anything of the like.

So, where could I get solid info on individual programs, or even comparisons? (things like the RBC profiles don't say much). I know talking to individuals in programs would be best, but being a non-trad student, I don't have many med contacts other than my home school although I'm working on it. So for now I'm looking for secondary sources.

Any help is appreciated. ER is my Plan A, B, and C, as I have ruled out other areas I was interested in through summer electives and other experiences, so I'm pretty motivated to read up and get a game plan set.

thanks

Talk to your emerg club leaders - I faintly remember a document being sent out with details about the individual programs. They should have a copy.