Premed 101 Forums

How did you prepare for the DAT?

Hi, I'm going to be writing the DAT this November and unfortunately I have to study for it with my summer courses and fall courses together. People have told me that the material is not difficult itself and it's all review, but I'd like to know how long people who got in spent studying for it and what was the most effective way for you?

Hi, I'm going to be writing the DAT this November and unfortunately I have to study for it with my summer courses and fall courses together. People have told me that the material is not difficult itself and it's all review, but I'd like to know how long people who got in spent studying for it and what was the most effective way for you?

I studied the whole summer for my MCAT on Sept 2nd. Late Sept I signed up for DAT and started staying for it. I just used Kaplan's blue book and it's practice questions online as well as the DAT manual. I used MCAT books too, though MCAT bio is definitely not enough, nor is Kaplan's blue book.I had to guess some stuff on the test and use some of my general knowledge from university. I also signed up with predds.info for some PAT problems.

For RC, I used a software called EyeQ to help me read and comprehend very very fast. I recommend it to everyone it was amazing. Studying for VR on MCAT using Kaplan and ExamCrackers helped too.

Considering that I just had less than a month to study and all other applications for different schools, I think I did just ok.

Did you have your regular university courses along with DAT prep?

I'm taking summer courses right now so I'll be starting the Kaplan course in late August. I'm thinking of taking a lighter course load in the fall so I can prepare for the DAT better.

I didn't take the Kaplan course for DAT. Frankly I don't even know whether their course is for American DAT to Canadian DAT.

I did take Kaplan MCAT course, but then again I realized I could have studied myself had I just gotten their material.