Premed 101 Forums

Aerospace Engineer Wanting to Pursue Oncology

Hello all,

I just recently graduated from my program in Aerospace Engineering. For a quite awhile now, I have been interested in pursuing a career in oncology. Overall I am a fairly competent student with an OMSAS GPA of 3.77 with the following yearly breakdown...

Year 1: 3.88

Year 2: 3.8

Year 3: 3.95

Year 4: 3.49

I didn't have a very good final year, which I realize will probably reflect poorly on my application. I took on two teaching assistant jobs with 6 courses a semester and found myself overwhelmed, resulting in a series of poorly written final exams.

As it stands now I am beginning a Master's program at U of T in September. If possible I was thinking about picking up the prereqs that I need while there. I think I am capable of doing better than I have in the past, so I see it as an opportunity to hopefully make-up for my weak 4th year in undergrad.

My EC record primarily includes teaching assistantships, working for my schools student success center as a mentor/tutor and research with one publication and another currently in the works. Nothing really health related yet, but I'm currently seeking some possible volunteer work while in Toronto.

Is trying to do prerequisite courses while doing a Masters a good idea, or should I pick them up as a special student at my current school and forget the Masters? Also, any advice on where I should focus my extracurricular acitivities would be much appreciated!

Thanks guys, after speaking with the U of T registrar office today it seems as though I can take the courses so long as it is cleared with my faculty first (I haven't been able to get through to them today). I hope this works out since my Masters is completely paid for through scholarships, however I will do whatever I must to pursue my dream!

So I guess the next step is to try and land a volunteer position with the Cancer Agency!