Premed 101 Forums

OAT results

momo555

So I finally wrote my OAT.

I was shocked at how easy the reading comprehension section was.

I scored 400 and the percentile was 100%, which means that 100% of people who took the test today got 400 as their score (perfect).

I had about 15 minutes left over when I completed my 3 passages.

It was the highest score from all my sections I did and boy, it contrasted so much with VR from MCAT.

I did horribly in QR. To be honest, that was the section I was most confident with because I always liked those type of math, but boy...there were t so many cosine stuff... I didn't brush up on those type of things at all because I studied using my archaic MCAT book.

I have 310 as QR and GC, physics is 320.

Overall I have 340.

I'm not sure how this will be viewed upon when I apply to optometry this year...but I'm definitely never writing that ever again.

I felt like I am torturing myself every summer either for MCAT or this summer for OAT.

If I keep at it, I might become masochist someday hahaha

Isn't percentile the percent of values that can be observed below a set of scores?

Eg. If you are 95th percentile, that means 95% of scores are equal to or lower than your score. In other words, that is the top 5%.

As for OAT score, from what I know they don't look at subsections. Waterloo looks at overall score. I know a friend who got in with a 290 in one section. Of course that could be a rare case. Best would be to call and ask.