Premed 101 Forums

Doing residency in montreal

I'm a student from Sherbrooke medical school, and I'd like to go back to montreal for my residency. Will it be difficult for me to do this?

Does UdeM heavily favor its own students?

I don't want to do family med, that's for sure. But say I wanted to match into internal medicine at McGill or UdeM, or any of the ROAD specialties, will it be extremely difficult for me?

If i do end up doing residency at sherbrooke, will I have a harder time finding a job back in montreal?

thanks!

I'm a student from Sherbrooke medical school, and I'd like to go back to montreal for my residency. Will it be difficult for me to do this?

I don't want to do family med, that's for sure. But say I wanted to match into internal medicine at McGill or UdeM, or any of the ROAD specialties, will it be extremely difficult for me?

If i do end up doing residency at sherbrooke, will I have a harder time finding a job back in montreal?

thanks!

Seeing that no body responded to you, I suggest you drop a PM to thebouque, he did his MD at Laval, and he's doing doing his rez (in pathology) in Montreal (I think UdeM), he may be able to help.

For residency, from last year's stats, about 46% of UdS's med students matched to somewhere else than their home school and about 4% of students left the province (more than UdM and Ulaval). So you are not obliged to stay in Sherbrooke and it is quite easy to do residency somewhere else.

When you apply for residency, you go through the system 'Carms' and there is no official preference for each home school's students. However, it won't be surprising if there is a bit of preference for each school's own students, since the 'face' time is more. You could compensate this by doing electives at UdM or McGill.