Premed 101 Forums

Extra curriculars/volunteering

Hi everyone - I just wanted to bounce my ECs/volunteering experience off you guys to see if you think that what I have is sufficient.

Just a bit of background: I graduated from 3 years of a BSc in biochemistry (from Quebec, that's why 3 years). My OMSAS GPA, including all of UofT's "worst grades/year" omissions leave me with a 3.82 for applying to UofT. I'm doing my Ph.D. now in Chemical Engineering at Mac with a grad GPA of 3.9 on OMSAS. I'll have several publications by the time I'm done next year.

I'm writing the MCAT in May/June

In ascending chronologically, my EC's/volunteer experience are:

Summer 2000 - Worked as a summer camp counselor at a full time sleep-away camp for disabled children. This lasted the whole summer, and I was in charge (along with 3 other counselors) of planning day activities and caring for the well-being of around 15 moderately to severely disabled kids throughout the summer. I got paid like 1000$ for the summer, so it wasn't considered volunteering.

Summer 2006 + summer 2007 - I worked as a warehouse foreman at a facilitated work environment for moderately to severely disabled adults from Montreal's Jewish community. This was part of a summer employment program sponsored by the government of Canada to give university students an opportunity to work in an environment that focuses on caring for special needs workers.I was directly involved in planning work schedules, planning day long events, and looking after the well being of the employees. I got a minimum wage salary for this work from the government, but I had to work another job at night at a grocery store to make ends meet (so it wasn't purely non-altruistic) :)

Summer 2008 + 2009 - Undergrad NSERC USRA student working in biochemistry and synthetic organic chemistry research labs, respectively by year. I also tutored a CEGEP student in organic chemistry during the summer of 2009 - I was paid for this work.