Premed 101 Forums

Where to get orgo help?

Guest Jochi1543

Guest Jochi1543

I'm prepping for the orgo section, and having lots of trouble with it (I have no orgo background). I'm also taking orgo distance ed now, and I don't get it - and a phone tutor is hardly useful when you are trying to discuss 3D structures. I tried to find a tutor through the local university, but it's been rather fruitless, since it's summertime. Any good websites or maybe books that break it down well?

Guest SevenAges

Well, I've been reading the Kaplan Organic Chem section and it's not amazingly helpful, especially for someone in your situation. Just thought I'd let you know. For 3d structures, they have kits, and some people find those really helpful. It's what we were recommended to get while taking the class. I think it'd be a good idea for you to get an Organic Chem text, if you don't already have one. I found mine to be pretty good.

Recently, while reviewing, I have been going to this website:

forums.studentdoctor.net/....php?f=134

They have an Organic Chemistry question thread and an Organic Chemistry answer thread with answers to all the questions others have asked. It's amazing! There are some good people on there who are willing to answer many of your questions. The internet, in general, also has some good 3D representations of the structures.

If you need any help, you can ask on here and I'm sure the people on the boards may be able to lend an answer or two. I highly recommend the above website though.

I hope that was at least semi-helpful?

I know how you feel, Jochi. Organic can definitely be challenging.

Guest Jochi1543

Yup, Kaplan here as well. So far it's just been endless nomenclature and reactions - I can't possibly memorize all that in a month.

Guest avenir001

Jochi, don't worry too much...one month is plenty of time.