Premed 101 Forums

Electives vs. Shadowing

Hi Everyone

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I am a little new at the terminology. I keep hearing things like electives, pre-electives, shadowing, clerkship, observerships etc...are they all the same thing? or are they all different in the sense of we need to do one before the other during our 4 years of med school? if so, which part do we do in first year, second etc...which part is mandatory and which part is optional that some people choose to do in the summer,

I would really appreciate it if someone can shed any light on this!

Generally, clerkship is your third year of mandatory rotations, where you are caring for patients and spending most of your time at the hospital.

Post clerkship/4th year electives are not optional in that you have to do them, but you get to choose where and what (for the most part)

Pre clerkship electives can be mandatory or not, depending on the school, but there is usually a connotation that you are spending a more extended period of time with one supervisor and may have some clinical responsibilities.

Observerships are kind of the same as shadowing, except that I think shadowing is more what people do before medical school. It's optional here, and you just go and spend some time watching different physicians when you are not in class.

Thanks a lot for clarifying. Generally, what do people usually do after first and second year then? do we just do research or set up some kind of shadowing/preclerkship experience on our own?

And for all the clerkship and electives, is it something we have to set up on our own and let the school know, or does a school provides you with a list that you apply for etc...

Generally, clerkship is your third year of mandatory rotations, where you are caring for patients and spending most of your time at the hospital.

Post clerkship/4th year electives are not optional in that you have to do them, but you get to choose where and what (for the most part)