Premed 101 Forums

Moonlighting during R3 EM year as Family Doc

meshuga3

Hi,

This topic has been addressed before, in part, but I have a couple of specific questions that I haven't been able to find an answer to. I'm a family med resident hoping to do the R3 EM year. I would love to moonlight a bit during this year to bring in some extra money. It sounds like that is possible, that people do it (I'm in Ontario, btw). What I'm not clear on is the following:

1. When you register with the CPSO, I assume it's as an independent practitioner, and as such, you pay the full license/app fees (close to 2000 dollars at last check). Does this same license cover you for the R3 year of residency, or would I also have to pay for a post-grad education license?

2. Same question re: CMPA. There is the option to pay for restricted registration coverage while in residency, i.e. code 14, or to pay for the full independent coverage (code 35 or 73). Not sure which I'd pick -- or if I would pick the regular post-grad code (12), plus one of these others.

3. Also, would it even be permissible to work shifts in the emerg as a family doctor if I were an R3 EM resident? I mean, without the R3 year I can still go to a rural hospital and work in the ED. I can't see how simply being in an EM program should change that, except I could see an admin person somewhere saying "how can meshuga3 work in an emerg while enrolled in an emerg training program?

4. Finally, and maybe most importantly, how difficult is it to find opportunities to do walk-ins, locums, or the occasional ED shift? I have no idea where to even start looking!

Thanks -- I've been on this board since before med school and have always been super-grateful for all the good advice I've gotten.