Premed 101 Forums

Residency LOC question

So Im a resident now, and just wanted some advice.

Im with scotiabank, and only used 67k on my LOC (plus OSAP) in med school. Now that im in residency, I have needed to use a good amount more (lifestyle, needed to buy a car).

However, as a resident apparently we can only get 20k/year. The overall max is 300k apparently or something like that, and I have only used about 90k, but I am running into the upper limit bc I am a resident and for some reason at this point theyll only give 20k a year!

Has anyone run into this? Can anything be done? Im really frustrated bc I was responsible in med school and tried to not spend money, and now that I need it its not there!!

Chris

Im with scotiabank, and only used 67k on my LOC (plus OSAP) in med school. Now that im in residency, I have needed to use a good amount more (lifestyle, needed to buy a car).

However, as a resident apparently we can only get 20k/year. The overall max is 300k apparently or something like that, and I have only used about 90k, but I am running into the upper limit bc I am a resident and for some reason at this point theyll only give 20k a year!

Has anyone run into this? Can anything be done? Im really frustrated bc I was responsible in med school and tried to not spend money, and now that I need it its not there!!

Chris

Both BMO and RBC will be more flexible with the rate of dispensing money, especially if you tell them that you have a bunch of upfront expenses that you need to pay for now (car etc.).

Go to Scotiabank. Tell them what you need and tell them if they aren't willing to work with you, BMO and RBC are more flexible, and you will take your business to them. That'll get their attention.

Remember, the banks make money off you. If they aren't being helpful, you can always switch. Don't give your money to someone who isn't willing to work for it.

Chris