Premed 101 Forums

Canadian highschool student looking for advice

JSAN

Hello :)

My name is Josh I'm new to these forums so hi everyone lol. Anyways, I'm a Canadian high school student residing in Alberta and i am on my last year of high school and I need some advice about becoming a RN and then advancing to a NP.

I like school, I excel in the sciences and maths. I volunteer in my school and outside of my school. I've been contemplating on some future careers and so far Psychology, Dentistry, Medicine, Pharmacy and Nursing interest me.

I started researching each profession and one by one I had to eliminate options due to money, time and practicality until i came down to one. Nursing. Nursing seems like the profession for me because in my POV it has it all! helping the patient, working in a team, working in a hospital / clinic setting, treating patients and most importantly in my opinion education patients so that they can live long healthy lives.

With nursing i can apply right after High School. The program is four years and my admission average is pretty competitive. Nurses are very in demand where I live, so after Nursing School i can get a job right away. After working as a registered nurse for 5 - 10 years i plan on becoming a Nurse Practitioner for All ages.

If all goes well and I become a nurse practitioner i would really like to open a family medical clinic and continue on treating and educating patients but this time working autonomously and working more as a leader.

I have a few questions for RNs, NPs, and Nursing students.

- are my career goals practical?

- was nursing school hard?

- is becoming an NP hard?

- Can NPs in alberta open and run family clinics like NPs in Ontario can do?

- what should i expect in Nursing school (subjects, Tests, labs ect)?

- U of A, U of C or MRU for Nursing?

- Whats your day like as a RN, NP or Nursing student?

- Any advice you can give a nervous kid who just entered the real world lol?