Premed 101 Forums

PhD student with relatively low uGPA.

I'm a medical physics PhD student and recently considering applying to medical school some years down the line. Unfortunately, my undergraduate GPA is incredibly low (3.5 cumulative). Even though that was high enough to get into all graduate programs of my choice, it's not nearly high enough to be competitive for medical schools here. Will the PhD along with the research publications I've done and clinical experience I've gained thus far doing the PhD make any difference at any of the schools?

My background is:

Bsc mathematics and physics with 3.5 cGPA.

MSc physics with an average of A overall. Research was not medical related.

Medical physics PhD (in progress) with an average of an A across all coursework.

I'm a medical physics PhD student and recently considering applying to medical school some years down the line. Unfortunately, my undergraduate GPA is incredibly low (3.5 cumulative). Even though that was high enough to get into all graduate programs of my choice, it's not nearly high enough to be competitive for medical schools here. Will the PhD along with the research publications I've done and clinical experience I've gained thus far doing the PhD make any difference at any of the schools?

My background is:

Bsc mathematics and physics with 3.5 cGPA.

MSc physics with an average of A overall. Research was not medical related.

Medical physics PhD (in progress) with an average of an A across all coursework.

For some schools it will make you shine and other schools it won't make a difference. You have a very good chance at UofT despite your low GPA (they look at research very very highly, especially with publications). I've heard UofT med's classes have a large proportion of grad students. And schools like Mcmaster give you an extra +3 points for having done your PhD. And there are PhD candidates with lower GPA than your who have gotten in so you have a pretty good chance.