Premed 101 Forums

Hey!

So I have been trying to get more information about the average pay/salary for a Radiologist. I have heard anywhere from 300-400k gross per year. I tried looking through old forums, the MSP Blue Book, and the CMA website - but none of those have any figures for radiologists. Does anyone know around what they would make once they land a job?

• 2 weeks later...
I'm an undergrad, but I've heard that radiologists are some of the large community hospitals in Toronto commonly make about a million a year, with limited/minimal overhead. Seems like a great way to go. But I'm guessing that's not every radiologist.

That is rather rare, but it can happen. You would need to be part of a group (corporation) or a private practice that has very high vaolume and you choose to work a lot of hours. >$1 gross IS possible, but they are the minority. Average billings are in the $500K range. However, this will likely drop or at least stagnate by the time you or I are in the field. You can never predict these things...and you shouldn't be choosing a specialty by pay anyway. I would rather make $259K at a job I love than $500K at a job I loath.

• 5 years later...
On 3/18/2014 at 10:49 AM, schmitty said:

That is rather rare, but it can happen. You would need to be part of a group (corporation) or a private practice that has very high vaolume and you choose to work a lot of hours. >$1 gross IS possible, but they are the minority. Average billings are in the $500K range. However, this will likely drop or at least stagnate by the time you or I are in the field. You can never predict these things...and you shouldn't be choosing a specialty by pay anyway. I would rather make $259K at a job I love than $500K at a job I loath.

Woof, this prediction came true.

4 hours ago, 1D7 said:

All specialties have been cut across the board in Ontario over the past few years.