Premed 101 Forums

Cramming everything into the summer

Hi, I'm in my first year of undergrad and could use a bit of everything in regards to research/volunteer experience, shadowing experience, summer school, vacation time.

My friend is joining an organization this summer to volunteer in Guatemala as either a medical or dental assistant. I think that's one of the most interesting experiences one could have and I'm really considering it although I'm not sure when it would work out. I think the norm is to study for the DAT during the summer between 2nd and 3rd year (next year for me), so I'd imagine that I would have to commit my summer to that.

I don't think summer school is an option for me this year because I may have missed the deadlines, but I was hoping to work ahead and ease the workload for next semester.

I could either shadow my mom this summer, which would be very convenient for me, or shadow another dentist so that I could potentially get a LOR from them. This, however, would take more planning ahead of time and I should start giving people calls soon if that is what I decide to do.

May is just around the corner and I would really like to start doing anything I can towards applying for dental school. My issue is what my priorities should be and how to balance everything out. Any help would be appreciated!