Premed 101 Forums

What do you know about Oral Surgery?

Hi, I'm a resident in the USA, but Canadian born.

I'm wondering what Canadian medical students and Canadian residents know about the field of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery / Oral Surgery / OMS / OMFS.

What has your experience been with them?

What is their scope, as you see it?

How do you feel their training compares to yours?

I'll be sure to chime in later if anyone has questions... Thanks!

Aren't oral surgeons dentists? I remember reading something about how it's like a fellowship after dentistry school, and some of them also have MDs. My only experience with them is that I was a patient once in an outpatient oral surgery clinic. Seems like they deal with a lot of oral cancers, pathology of the mouth and more specialized care that dentists can't/don't offer.

Aren't oral surgeons dentists? I remember reading something about how it's like a fellowship after dentistry school, and some of them also have MDs. My only experience with them is that I was a patient once in an outpatient oral surgery clinic. Seems like they deal with a lot of oral cancers, pathology of the mouth and more specialized care that dentists can't/don't offer.

My understanding is they are also specialized dentists. The training is quite extensive.

Specialized dentists. 2 routes to OMFS, usually after dental school and a few years of private practice or 1 year of general dentistry residency:

4 years of residency in OMFS

6 years of residency with MD combined (ie 2-3 yrs med school + 3 years OMFS).

In terms of scope, there is strangely not a big difference between the 2 routes. However, those with an MD might have an easier time to treat oral cancers (COMANDO surgeries). It's still a huge turf war between OMFS and ENT, and in most places ENT wins.