Premed 101 Forums

waterloo vs Mac difficulty

Was wondering if there is any general consensus on which of these two universities is the easier one. I know its not really fair to say based on anecdotal evidence but since no one went to both of them, at least I'm assuming so, any opinions/experiences would be appreciated

Forgot to mention, I'm talking about life science in both

Guest cw2lu

I'm a Uwaterloo student (Biomed). Just finished my first year.

In grade 12 I got an 83% final average and for my first year I got 91.3% as a final average. I got more ECs done and I studied more actively this year. I don't know about Mac though.

UWaterloo biomed is notoriously easy. Waterloo's challenging programs are engineering and mathematics. Biomed hands out A+s like lollypops.

McMaster's ease is once again based on program. Everyone in health sciences will come out with a 3.9+ (most 3.95+) for basically having a pulse and doing the basic group work. Many courses, you can even grade yourselves or colleagues on some aspects. However their regular science courses are more rigourous and have standards when it comes to mark distribution.

Be VERY careful in choosing your undergrad. I did Western biomed - which compared to places like Queen's and Toronto is very very easy, but is still a bit more challenging than mac health sciences and a whole slew of other bird programs that have cropped up in Ontario over the last few years. If you want meds, find the birdiest program you can - and then make sure that you do well on the mcat and rack up the ECs as needed. After that, there is still a bit of luck, but you'll be in the game!!

Guest cw2lu

I wouldn't say biomed at Uwaterloo is considered to be extremely easy. You still have to work hard to get an A+. The averages on mid terms for my program tend to be in the 60s and 50s, typical uni averages.

In terms of bird courses, they're only bird courses if you like them and/or find them interesting.