Premed 101 Forums

When do dentists start earning money?

I am a third year undergrad planning to write my DAT in Nov and apply this upcoming cycle.

So you go through dental school at around 50,000 a year (with tuition, living expenses included etc). Then maybe you want to take another 3 years to specialize in ortho or something which costs maybe another 100,000 bucks! My question is how can you start making money to pay this off? Is there dental residencies as in medicine? Could you work as a dentist while studying graduate dental specialties? Would you open a general practice and work on specializing after you have paid off your debt?

It just seems to me that a medical student starts earning money right away (via residency) and can start paying off loans but a dentist must either choose to specialize and pay more or do a general practice.

What I'm trying to say in I think I want to be a dentist over a doctor because I prefer the lifestyle and patient population and the manual dexterity part of the job but I fear being homeless coming out of dental school because I won't have any money. I don't want to choose a doctor over dentist just for the financial aspect of it but I fear being in a lifelong debt coming out of dental school :( Am I way off base here? :confused:

Another way of looking at it: med students have several years of residency in which they are making okay but not stellar incomes. As a dentist you can hit the ground running right after dental school and potentially make a much higher income that a medicine resident. You don't have to specialize out of dental school and 90% of dentists don't.

Another way of looking at it: med students have several years of residency in which they are making okay but not stellar incomes. As a dentist you can hit the ground running right after dental school and potentially make a much higher income that a medicine resident. You don't have to specialize out of dental school and 90% of dentists don't.