Premed 101 Forums

Working full time and studying for the MCAT

IfOnly

Hi,

As the title suggests, I am just trying to guage from other members if studying for the mcat while working full time (40 hours/wk) is doable. I am currently taking a prep course and I TRY to get all my work done in the evenings after work. I dont write until the end of summer. I wouldnt work full time if my financial situation depicted otherwise. Any advice or tips from other members who have worked full time while studying for the mcat within 3 months would be greatly appreciated. :)

I'm a full time lawyer, married and father of two young boys and I'll be writing the MCAT at the end of summer without taking a break from any of my professional or family activities. I commute one hour to work each way, so that gives me 2 hours of MCAT reading per day. After the boys are in bed I try to do one hour for a total of 3 hours per day. Sometimes I'll do a little MCAT reading at lunch. Weekends are family time so I try not to study on Saturdays and Sundays except for maybe an hour in the morning before everyone wakes up. I did book three days of vacation before the exam for a final review.

I think it will be enough, but I won't know until I sit for the exam.

Hi,

As the title suggests, I am just trying to guage from other members if studying for the mcat while working full time (40 hours/wk) is doable. I am currently taking a prep course and I TRY to get all my work done in the evenings after work. I dont write until the end of summer. I wouldnt work full time if my financial situation depicted otherwise. Any advice or tips from other members who have worked full time while studying for the mcat within 3 months would be greatly appreciated. :)

If you ask these sorts of questions, you are doomed to get a few answers like mine... extenuating circumstances, would not recommend... but great results.