Premed 101 Forums

I could use some help...

Hi all,

I am an Ontario resident who graduated last year (2013) from McGill in Political Science and English Literature with a 3.77 OMSAS GPA. I am interested in pursuing a path to medical school, but I have no prerequisites in science at the university level. I would like to keep my options as open as possible (i.e. not just apply to McMaster with a verbal score) by rounding out my application with some continuing education courses, but I wouldn't want to spend more than a year taking pre-reqs before I apply.

I would appreciate any advice you have re: which classes to take, whether taking science classes is worth the trouble, whether I am a viable candidate, etc.

Any advice would be great! Thank you in advance.

Hi all,

I am an Ontario resident who graduated last year (2013) from McGill in Political Science and English Literature with a 3.77 OMSAS GPA. I am interested in pursuing a path to medical school, but I have no prerequisites in science at the university level. I would like to keep my options as open as possible (i.e. not just apply to McMaster with a verbal score) by rounding out my application with some continuing education courses, but I wouldn't want to spend more than a year taking pre-reqs before I apply.

I would appreciate any advice you have re: which classes to take, whether taking science classes is worth the trouble, whether I am a viable candidate, etc.

Any advice would be great! Thank you in advance.

I am no professional but I think pursuing a second degree including prereq courses would be the way to go. Try to keep GPA as high as possible. Sorry, I dont have much knowledge about the french med schools if you are eligible.

can you still get into any summer biol and chem courses (especially chem 1)? I would start there. That is how I did it, and i did all the UBC prereq's, which include 2 biochem 300 level courses. It wasn't fun, but it is possible.