Premed 101 Forums

Female attendings with different attitudes towards female trainees?

Hi everyone,

I am a female med student and am curious about whether other women in medicine have experienced this as well......but I have come across a few female attendings who are rude/harsh for no apparent reason towards me, but are totally different around my male counterparts. I am sure it's not a competency related issue, it seems to be right from the get go. And no matter how competent I prove myself to be, they're just extra nice to the guys but cold towards me. Have others experienced similar situations as well? Is it basically a girl hates girl sort of deal?

(I do realize it's not necessarily an issue of my gender, perhaps these attendings have just not liked something else about me, but I'm just curious about whether it's well known that sometimes female attendings can be extra harsh on female students for no reason)

Hi everyone,

I am a female med student and am curious about whether other women in medicine have experienced this as well......but I have come across a few female attendings who are rude/harsh for no apparent reason towards me, but are totally different around my male counterparts. I am sure it's not a competency related issue, it seems to be right from the get go. And no matter how competent I prove myself to be, they're just extra nice to the guys but cold towards me. Have others experienced similar situations as well? Is it basically a girl hates girl sort of deal?

(I do realize it's not necessarily an issue of my gender, perhaps these attendings have just not liked something else about me, but I'm just curious about whether it's well known that sometimes female attendings can be extra harsh on female students for no reason)

I'm not gonna say much except that I have heard your complaint from multiple other females in medicine.