Premed 101 Forums

Hand-eye coordination needed to be a surgeon

Hi, I am an undergrad student looking to ask surgeon/ surgeon-students a question. In the movie Gifted Hands, one of Ben Carson's professors says "intelligence and dedication are the easy part, you also need incredible hand-eye coordination"

I was just wondering about the validity of this claim in the real world. Not sure if that quote is verbatim in Ben Carson's studies, or if they had a medical consultant working on the movie.

In any event, if this is true, then can this skill be acquired? What can you do to work on this skill? is this a particular requirement for being a surgeon? do they administer tests to evaluate this skill?

Hi, I am an undergrad student looking to ask surgeon/ surgeon-students a question. In the movie Gifted Hands, one of Ben Carson's professors says "intelligence and dedication are the easy part, you also need incredible hand-eye coordination"

I was just wondering about the validity of this claim in the real world. Not sure if that quote is verbatim in Ben Carson's studies, or if they had a medical consultant working on the movie.

In any event, if this is true, then can this skill be acquired? What can you do to work on this skill? is this a particular requirement for being a surgeon? do they administer tests to evaluate this skill?

To quote one of my staff: "you can teach a monkey to operate. The hard part of surgery is knowing when not to operate".

Seriously, for most surgery, mostly anyone can do the physical work. It's the mental judgement stuff that's much harder.

As part of my general surgery rotation I was given the opportunity to do a simulation lab they use to train their general surgeons. There were these two prong things and you had to move a joy stick to control the prongs to do simulated procedures.

Let's just say I was the fastest done because I perforated all the patients and they all died.