Premed 101 Forums

Biology Degree Undergrad

lcemango

Hey everyone,

I am currently in my first year of University at Queen's. I am unsure if I should pursue a biology degree or a life science degree. I do not want to pursue a life science degree because physics is required and I absolutely cannot do physics. I can do calculus (got a 94 in high school) but physics, I failed the final exam in grade 11 and ended up with a 70 (I hated the material so much I didn't study). When it comes to biology and chemistry, I  got 99 and 100 in those courses between gr 11 and 12.

If I wanted to take biology as my major, I would be taking Economics 110 (believe it or not, I love this material, and also many say it is easy to do well in the course at queens so long as you don't die of boredem), Sociology 122(same thing, easy to do well if you don't die of boredem), Calculus 121 (I have the easiest prof possible, according to many upper years), Biology 102/102 (not concerned about this course at all), Chemistry (not concerned again). I know for a fact that I can achieve very high marks in all these courses. If I wanted to do Life Sciences, I would be taking out Econ and putting physics 117 in, which many say is easy if you have done gr 12 physics, which I didn't. I could probably if I try REALLY hard  and somehow get interested in the course squeeze in an A-, maybe an A in the course (grade distrubution for the course shows a huge chunk of the class ends up with an A- or above), but I'm worried that all the effort I put in that course would take away from my time to study the other courses, or even do extracurriculars (I have a job and am looking to work in the student government at Queen's, among other things). When I say I have to try hard, I mean REALLY hard by the way.

I'm not worried about physics being a pre req for schools. I looked and very few in Canada require it. The only ones that do are not in my province and only accept VERY few out of province applicants a year.