Premed 101 Forums

Shot At Interview?

Hi all.

Just got my MCAT scores, 12/10/11/33 PS/VR/BS/Total, which is slightly lower than I was expecting. My cGPA is 3.6 and my 2YGPA is about 3.8, and I have a completed MSc.

I've taken a quick look through the interview invites and see some similar stats but can't make heads or tails of it right now, most likely due to nerves. Do I have a shot at Queens?

Thanks in advance!

I can't say much about Queen's since I'm a current applicant as well, but I think considering your GPA, Queen's is your best bet. I think it'll be difficult for you to get an interview because your GPA is still a bit on the low side even for Queen's, but your MCAT is decent and does meet all their cut-offs so I think your extracurriculars will be the deciding factor. 

I am fairly confident you can get an interview

With an MSc, it is OK if you GPA is in the lower range. Many many msc students with lower grades have gotten in with grades closer to 3.7.

Anyways, focus on your ABS and LORs 

You have a very good shot! (Plus, also since you're older, your non-trad experience will weigh in!)

Just tacking onto bclionsfan's comment:

With a 3.8 you most likely exceed the "commonly-agreed" (since no one really knows) GPA cutoffs for Queen's. For more reassurance, if you look in the Interview Invites thread, there have been applicants that received interviews w/~3.75 in the past cycle, although they were mostly MSc applicants (yay for you? :) )

After that they'd look at your MCAT, and with your scores you have also made the cutoffs of "10 in each section with 32+" (based on data collected by Trojanhorse, a premed101 member). So all it really comes down to is indeed your ABS in determining whether or you will receive an interview. As an older applicant I think this would be your benefit. I think LOR are usually thought to be a pass/fail thing, but perhaps for MSc applicants there is a stronger emphasis? I'm not sure.