Premed 101 Forums

Im In The Us

RadCdn

Hey Everyone,

I'm an IM resident in the US, originally from Canada. I have 2 questions:

1) How many additional years do I have to do in order to work as an internist in Canada? Now I've heard of a 5 year requirement to write the GIM boards in Canada. Can someone refresh me on this.

2) In the US, IM docs often work in primary care. My question is, if I decide to do this in Canada, is the billing any different from a family doctor?

Thanks for all you input. I really appreciate it.

• 1 month later...

RadCdn, can you please answer my questions :

1) Does a CMG have to write the USMLE's in order to be eligible to apply for US residency ?

2) What are the chances of a CMG matching into top notch US programs such as mass general, johns hopkins, mayo clinic with regards to IM residency ? 

Thanks in advance

• 2 weeks later...

Hey Everyone,

I'm an IM resident in the US, originally from Canada. I have 2 questions:

1) How many additional years do I have to do in order to work as an internist in Canada? Now I've heard of a 5 year requirement to write the GIM boards in Canada. Can someone refresh me on this.

2) In the US, IM docs often work in primary care. My question is, if I decide to do this in Canada, is the billing any different from a family doctor?

Thanks for all you input. I really appreciate it.

So it's still kinda confusing, but here's my take.

1. There used to just be one pathway to GIM, and that was to complete 1 extra year and then write the RCPSC Internal Medicine board examination. Now GIM is a 2 year fellowship, so you complete 2 years in the fellowship. In your first year of fellowship you get the RCPSC in Internal Medicine. After your second year, you take another exam and get a second RCPSC certification in General Internal Medicine (not just Internal Medicine).