Premed 101 Forums

Ubc Fam Med

conan88

Hello,

I would appreciate any insight people can shed regarding my situation.

I am a fourth year med student from Ontario who is interested in applying for fam medicine My top choices would be UBC (mostly St. Pauls) and UT. I am interested in the St. Paul's program primarily because my partner intends to return to BC. From looking at the UBC website it seems that there will likely only be around 12 spots available for CMG at the St. Paul's Website. Seeing that I have not done an elective at UBC (or any OOP electives) is it unlikely that  I will be able to get a spot at UBC (with a mediocre application and potentially mediocre interview). Since UT fam med is qutie competitive I am concerned if I rank UBC first and UT second that I would get neither and end up getting one of my last choices (or worse, become unmatched). 

Can anyone shed light on applying to an UBC fam med program from out of province?

Thank you!

1) Your rank list takes precedence over the program's rank. So if you ranked UBC 1st and UT 2nd and got unmatched to neither, that's NOT because of your ranking strategy, but because neither programs ranked you high enough - in which case the matching result would still be the same had you ranked the two programs the other way around.

So the best thing you could do is to rank your most desired program 1st, your 2nd most desired program 2nd, regardless your chances of being matched to that specific program.

2) I suppose you want to live in Vancouver. Don`t forget that there are a few other FM sites in greater vancouver: Fraser, Surrey, Coastal,... also Abbortsford and Nanaimo site which would take some time commuting from Vancouver.

I think the Aboriginal site also has 1 or 2 spots in dwntn Vancouver

Good luck!

• 2 weeks later...