Premed 101 Forums

Is It Time To Move On?

Hi all, 

I am writing today to get some feedback, I feel as though I have hit a crossroad with regards to my future in medicine and I want to hear about what everyone else thinks about my situation. It’s difficult to talk to my friends and family, because all their opinions are biased - of course :) 

I am 26 years old: 

• I graduated in 2010 from UBC with BKIN with the following GPAs:

1st yr - 3.24
2nd yr - 2.97
3rd yr - 3.19
4th yr - 3.59

• I realized I needed a second UG degree and began one in 2012 at UBC - for that year I received a GPA of 3.9 
  • I moved back to Ontario in 2013, and had to transfer my courses to TRU in order to obtain my second UG from home/online. I am almost complete and thus far I have a GPA of 3.94. I expect to finish on the same level. 
  • My MCAT BLOWS and I would 100% need to re-write...for the third time :| 

I am unsure if it’s the female hormones kicking in, or the fact that I am feeling quite deflated but I am having second thoughts about pursuing medicine. I can’t imagine re-writing the MCAT at this point in my life (with school, work, volunteering etc) and essentially screwed myself out of any chance at Ottawa because of online degree. NOSM won’t look at my 2nd UG degree until all my courses are complete (Dec 2014) and even my high GPA at UBC won’t be counted because it’s transferred. 

I also want a family, and to start paying off my debt and putting money away. 

I look daily at becoming an NP and have a hard time swallowing the pill. I am unsure if it’s because my ego won’t allow it, I feel as though I have given up after 15 years of wanting MD. At this point I don’t know if I should apply for NP and see how that route goes, always knowing attending Medschool is an option even in my later life. 

I cannot go to the Caribbean due to financial issues.