Premed 101 Forums

Transfering To Other Universities To Increase Chances Of Acceptance?

bruhh

I'm currently in 3rd year at York University. I am an honours psyc majors.

My first year GPA= 2.67, my 2nd year GPA = 3.87 (I went through some very tough times during first year due to personal issues, hence the subpar GPA). I suspect my 3rd and 4th year GPAs would also be around 3.85-3.9, however.

Being in ontario sucks, all the schools here get around 2000-4000 applicants and they accept between 2.5%-5%, and that's from all provinces. On the other hand, out of prince medical schools such as McGill, Dalhousie, Calgary, Alberta, Manitoba, UBC, etc all place heavy preference on applicants from their own province..

With my terrible first year GPA, residence in Ontario, and such competitiveness, I do not see myself going anywhere unless I do something about.

I'm thinking of transfering to McGill (or any other out of province uni) so that I can apply to McGill's Medical School as a Quebec resident (or any other out of province uni as a resident). This would increase my chances exponentially.

Should I transfer? I can definitely maintain a 3.85+ GPA for my 3rd/4th year but even with that, my first year GPA is terrible, and I was not taking full course-load so, no, UofT will not drop the 6 lowest marks.

Also, will being a transfer at McGill undermine my application to their medical school?

Thank you all so much.

It's a big decision and I don't know if I'll be able to handle the loneliness at a province where I don't know anyone. I've decided to either transfer to a university in Alberta to finish undergrad, or Manitoba.

EDIT: UofA requires only 1 year of residency. Manitoba requires 2 years. My best bet currently is UofA. UofC also requires 2 years of residency. 

double posstttt cause yolo..

Univeristy of Alberta Residency Requirement

Albertaresidencyrequirement_zps4dc46813.