Premed 101 Forums

Percentage mark increase but no change in GPA: Notify OMSAS?

Guest UofT Student

Guest UofT Student

Hey all,

I'm in third year, and I just found out that a mark from one of my second year half-courses has been increased slightly. However, there is no change in my GPA since I didn't go up to the next GPA level.

Has this happened to anyone else in the past, and if so, did you have to notify OMSAS? I don't want to bother them since there's no change in the OMSAS GPA.

Thanks in advance.

Guest codinator

"I'm in third year, and I just found out that a mark from one of my second year half-courses has been increased slightly."

If you don't mind me asking, how did this happen?

Guest starry234

Sometimes mistakes are made and the prof or the faculty does not catch it till later. I haven't heard of it happening this late into the year, but final marks do sometimes change later on after they are originally posted.

Guest codinator

this is entirely unfair, especially if the mark is lowered. once the prof. gives a mark, changing it after almost 7 months is unacceptable. if it means raising the mark, it's ok, but lowering of marks should not occur after such a long period of time. especially after they are made official!

Personally, I have never heard of anyone's mark being lowered after such a period of time...or even after marks are made official unless it was a case of academic dishonesty that was reviewed. However, I do know if instances where people had their April exams reviewed over the summer and mistakes in their advantage were found, resulting in the mark changing on their transcript in the fall.

Guest codinator

evenso, after 6-7 months it is not right to change someone's mark. it's the professor's fault. whether someone deserved the mark or not, it shouldn't change anything. you don't see people giving olympic medals back after the results are official! even after 3 months, it's still wrong.