Premed 101 Forums

Am I Still *screwed*? Lol.

Ok so Im in 2nd year in uni, Honours Bio Bsc. I fucked up really hard in first year due to many issues,

Since this isn't a blog for me to vent, Im just gunna show u the marks, and we can go from there.

1st year marks

Bio: 3.9

Chem:3.9

Computerscience:4.0

Math:3.9

Physics:3.3

Psychology:3.7

Physics:3.9

Chem:2.7

Bio:2.7

Math:2

As you can see, the marks in bold, are the marks I f***** up truly in. Assuming I maintain a 3.9 gpa this year minimum, how bad is my first year? Should I retake Math as an extra precaution?

There's no reason to retake math unless it's a prerequisite for upper level courses you want to take (ie. you really want to learn the content). Your original math mark will still be on your transcript.

Just want to also point out that you should realistically assess whether or not a 3.9 average is realistic for you. It's not impossible, certainly, but the majority of your courses are 3.9's as it is...for every 3.7, you need 2 4.0's to balance it out at 3.9, for every 3.3, you need 6 4.0's, etc.

Be cautious of the mathematics here. If you do maintain a 3.9, I think you'd have respectable chances at getting in, regardless of your "poor" (not really, but by med school standards) performance in those 3 courses. Just make sure you don't neglect the other parts of your application (volunteering, ECs, research, employment opportunities, etc).

Regarding the retaking of courses, different schools have different policies about this. They may average the two, or perhaps even disregard the 2nd attempt entirely. 

Many people do not do well in first year, and yet are still able to make it in by the end of 4th year. Just continue to work hard.

PS. I understand that grades can be very frustrating, but please refrain from using vulgarities.

Thank you guys, you have all been  informative, and sorry for the vulgarity ArchEnemy, I refreshed the page and noticed a lot of *changes* to my post. Wont happen again!