Premed 101 Forums

Need Advice For An Ug Student

Hi Everyone,

Long story short, I am writing in the hopes that someone can provide some of their opinions of what should I do or what can I do in this situation.

I saw my MCAT score today, and it was bad!

This was a retake and I scored worse compared to my first attempt. 

I applied to three different schools, and I already meet one of the school's preliminary requirements for my application to be considered (McMaster). I retook the MCAT in the hopes that I will meet another school's MCAT cut-off (Toronto), but now because of my atrocious VR score I lost the only chance for my application to be considered because that school only considers the most recent MCAT scores.

I am a 4th year student finishing up my undergraduate degree, and at this moment I feel so down that I do not even know whether if I should continue to pursue a medical education. At this moment, I feel like I have reached my limit of my abilities to proceed further in pursuing a medical education and I do not know if I can take another disappointment for my MCAT.

Some information about me:

1. Ontario Resident, but not in the Southwestern Ontario or Northern Ontario)

2. cGPA of 3.73 

I do meet the 2 years for Western's MD and about a wGPA 3.83 for UFT. 

3. I do have a student loan for my UG degree, and preferably do not want a huge loan by the time I finish a professional degree.

4. I did some preplanning in case I did not make it to getting a MD, and I was looking at either a PharmD degree or go for a thesis based MSc. I don’t know if this is frowned upon, but even if I do proceed for a PharmD degree, I plan to work for a couple of years before I retry for the MD Programs.

My Mindset

1. Going through a Pharmacy Education, I think I would be more mature candidate because I would have the knowledge of medications and the experience in working with patients.

2. I can possibly pay off some of the debts