Premed 101 Forums

Approaching Professors

Tart

I was wondering how to approach professors during undergrad. I'm currently in my second year and I'm hoping to apply in 3rd year however, my professors do not know me well enough to be able to give me a strong reference letter.

How did you guys strike that first conversation with your professor? A lot of professors tell us that we can come by for a chat any time where we can ask them about their research, but how do you actually do this? How much of their work do you read and how do you talk to them about it?

How well do they need to know you to provide you with a decent letter? Would it be too presumptuous to ask for a letter after only meeting them a handful of times?

You might find this blog post helpful: Asking for a reference letter: How-to. You can certainly ask for a letter after only taking a class with them, it just won't be as strong or personal. 

I got elected as the year rep for the faculty council from first to third years, so that was a good way to get to know profs in my department! I wasn't interested in forcing any relationships, but usually if I was genuinely interested in a prof's research it was pretty easy to get to know them a bit better! If you're forcing yourself to read their papers you might want to reconsider trying to form a relationship that way, and express interest in them another way.