Premed 101 Forums

Course Load For University Of Western Ontario?

Hello guys!

I need a suggestion for my situation:S

I am currently in my third year of the study at University of Toronto.

However, I have not taken a full course load for the last 2 years.

(First Year: 4.0 FCE // Second Year: 3.5 FCE // Second Year Summer: 1.0 FCE)

In this case, do I have a chance of applying year after my graduation using my 3rd and 4th year?

(I am going to take a FULL 5.0 FCE course load for this year and next year.)

Also, I went to UWO website and they show the % average of students who got accepted.

Are they using % instead of 4.0 GPA scale?

Finally, what would be a safe range of 2-year GPA and Canadian DAT scores to get?

Thank you!

Hi there, 

You do have a good chance at UWO if you do really well in 3rd and 4th year on a full course load, and apply after you graduate. But UWO does use your percent average, not GPA. I would say a safe average for your 2 best years would be 89%+ coupled with a 21 DAT. But your interview plays a large role as well. So those numbers are good for clinching an interview, not necessarily an acceptance.    

Hi there, 

You do have a good chance at UWO if you do really well in 3rd and 4th year on a full course load, and apply after you graduate. But UWO does use your percent average, not GPA. I would say a safe average for your 2 best years would be 89%+ coupled with a 21 DAT. But your interview plays a large role as well. So those numbers are good for clinching an interview, not necessarily an acceptance.    

Thanks for your reply!!

I went to the website and I thought I had no chance for applying..

Thank you for your info and letting me know the stats!!

I will try my best to maintain 89% + average I guess:)

By the way, is Canadian DAT significantly different than American DAT?

(I heard that only difference is Canadian RC time is shorter than American one..)