Premed 101 Forums

What Are My Chances-Any Help Will Be Most Appreciated :)

docvroom

I am currently in my third year of undergrad. I had a shaky first year, and mistakenly chose to write the MCAT this summer although I was working at a lab full time. My scores were very discouraging, and for a while my hope of getting into medical school was crushed. I know medicine is something I'd definitely want to pursue; however, I don't know if it is worth applying next year or should I redirect my path to medical school via a masters degree? If my chances of getting in are low, I'd rather not spend next summer studying for the MCAT and instead travel and try something different. 

My stats are: 

GPA

1st year- 3.31

2nd year- 3.76

cGPA (without a summer course)- 3.53

cGPA (with the summer course)- 3.6 

MCAT

...(24: PS7, VR7, BS10)

Extra-curricular

Winner of a national and regional science fair in grade 12 of high school 

Awards for modern languages, and science in high school

University Dean's Honour List-2nd year

Multiple admission scholarships

Research experience in multiple labs

Currently doing undergraduate research at the same lab I have been in for two summers now

Mentor undergraduate students in physics 

Volunteer at a hospital for over 2 years 

Music for over 5 years 

On the executive team of university club for 2 years

Any tips and advice on how I could tailor my application to become a more competitive applicant, or whether I should set my goal on pursuing graduate research would be immensely appreciated!