Premed 101 Forums

U Of C Grads! Please Help Me Decide A Major! Quick!

Hey fellows,

I'm a student in high-school grade 12 and I got the results for this semester and I've got 90+%. That basically means I'm eligible to apply to any science program I wish to apply to and I have to make a decision, and quick before the deadline of early admission.

I want to do either CMMB(general not honors) or Kinesiology(general). I liked CMMB after I checked out the CMMB course outlines about immunology, virology, human genetics and stuff like that and it really intrigues me. Maybe because I really loved genetics in grade 12. But looking at the kinesiology major, It's equally fun because, common, it's all about the human anatomy and physiology! Bottom line: In matters of interest, I love both equally.

This is my second problem, Since my main aim is to go for med school, I'd choose an 'Easier course' for a higher potential GPA and more time for ECs, but I don't have anyone's views on these programs at University of Calgary. It would be really really really really helpful if you would share your experiences/views! You know, in terms of the nature of professors, course difficulty, etc.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks!