Premed 101 Forums

Need advice...

Guest petergriffin

Guest petergriffin

Hi, I was really hoping someone could help me out a little....

My stats are:

10V 12B 12P OWS (34-0)

GPA is around 3.9 sumthing.

I am going to apply to schools in the US this june, but I need help in deciding which ones to apply to.

My extracurriculars are nothing special; I have a LOT of clinical experience (lots of volunteering at a hospital, shadowing (a week in India shadowing as well), I did a co-op in high school at a hospital), but really not much else (which is why I suspect I got rejected from a few Ontario schools)!!Thankfully, I have received an NSERC for this summer, so that will make the lacking extracurriculars a little bit better.

What I'm wondering, is should I even bother applying to a school like Northwestern, or Pritzker School of Medicine (@ U of Chicago), or say Columbia? Would I even be competitive at these crazy ass schools, or would this honestly just be a waste of my time and money? I realize that I could hopefully get admitted to SOME school in the states, but I was just wondering about the more competitive ones.

Any input would be helpful, thanks a lot!

Guest bioboy2007

Your stats are great and that will be an important part of your medical school application. My advice would be to visit http://www.mdapplicants.com and check out some of the profiles for people with similar stats as you. Be warned that this is only a subsection of a given class, but many of the applicants are quite stellar.

I wouldn't worry too much about EC's as long as you have a good rationale for being a doctor and have at least some clinical experience (which it seems that you do).

Also, just from reading other people's profiles it seems that you can send in update letters to schools in the US. If you have a chance to really enhance your EC's during this year's application cycle, I guess you can send a letter to schools updating them on your new activities.