Premed 101 Forums

Advice needed

Guest mirwat

Hello fellow ezboarders,

I would like some advice from those of you who have applied to U.S. medical schools and are in the know-how about the U.S application process.

Here are my stats:

4 year undergrad science degree with cGPA 3.45 as per OMSAS

MCAT: written 3 times, 26, 27, and latest 31R (Phys:9, Verbal:10, Bio: 12)

I would really like to apply to American medical schools this coming June, and I would like to know where I stand. Is my GPA competitive? I am also considering re-writing the MCAT, because I believe that with appropriate hard work I can increase my physical sciences score. If I improve my MCAT will I have better chances? The MCAT is the only part of my application that I can improve, as I have already completed my undergraduage studies and have no way of improving my GPA now.

Any idea what schools I might be eligible for?

thank you for reading my post

mirwat

This is my first time applying to the US and I have not been accepted at any schools (yet). With that in mind, here is my advice:

Your MCAT is good enough, your GPA is mediocre (like mine) but you have said it is your OMSAS GPA. The way AMCAS calculates your GPA could result in a higher value.

AMCAS calcs 2 GPAs: Overall and BPCM (Biology, Physics, Chemistry and Math; essentially a science GPA)

You can try to figure out what your 2 AMCAS averages will be and then re-evaluate your situation. Pick up a copy of the MSAR from Amazon.ca (wait a bit for the newer copy to come out) and look through through all the school stats. See which schools accept Canadian students and what their entrance requirements are. It is a really useful book and lets you decide whether or not you have a good shot.