Premed 101 Forums

CAD q - chances in States (moo?)

Guest redbluegreen2006

Guest redbluegreen2006

Hi,

I am a student planning to apply in the 2006-2007 cycle. Am a third yr in a canadian university at present. Did my MCATs in Aug but didnt do well - 9 7 9 Q = 25Q ( 7 in Verbal). My GPA is not as good either - around in the 3.6s.

1. What are the universities worth for me to apply? and the order to rank them since some universities give you priority if you are on the waitlist.

2. Also since I plan to redo my MCATs in Aug 06, should I still try to apply early in the admission cycle since I do want them to consider my new MCAT scores or wait a little?? I dont want to miss out on the opportunities for rolling schools but again I dont want my previous MCAT scores to hurt my chances.

Thanks

A

Guest QuestionMan23213

Hey there, i can offer you some advice as someone that has applied this year to 4 schools. I dont think 25 will make you competitive at very many places, even if you apply early. But if you got 25 the first time you wrote and are rewriting you will probably land somewhere near 30 your second time around this summer. This would be far better for your chances. You should still apply next year really early so that everything is ready when your scores come out in October. I made the mistake of waiting till oct to submit my app even after i wrote the august 2005 mcat. I had no idea things would take so long to finish and even the schools are really backed up after the scores are released. One school I applied to 6 weeks ago hasnt even processed my application. Just to give you an indication though, Wayne State which is where there are a tone of canadians, needs a min of 29 or 28 or so to get a secondary, but its really expensive (45k/year)! But many schools do you look at your application holistically so you can make up for lower mcat scores in other ways.

Good luck!

Guest redbluegreen2006