Premed 101 Forums

Urgent Need Of Advice (Interesting Situation)

torontototo

Long story here but I'm in serious need of advice so please give it a read.

My first year I was a directionless student finishing with poor grades. Early second year I decided to work towards a future in medicine and improved my grades considerably. Took my MCAT after second year and got PS 12 VR 10 BS 14. Moving forward I really picked it up in my third year. My fourth year was marred by some fairly serious personal issues and my marks fell in between those of my second and third year marks. My first application cycle I only applied to Ontario schools and received an interview at Queen’s. I was waitlisted and was never taken off the list. Since graduating, I reapplied and took on some new ECs but didn’t return to school. I applied to Ontario schools again, and added dal, and memorial to the list. I got no interviews outside of Ontario and long story short was informed that OMSAS never got one of my reference letters even though I had confirmations from out of province schools that the same letter had been received. I got a new reference in asap but was informed by most Ontario schools that it was too late (it was after the deadline). Queens told me my new letter had been attached to my application but couldn't confirm that my application would be valid for this cycle. I have received rejections from every Ontario school so far except for U of T who had assured me that my application would not be considered. So as of now I am out of luck and extremely unsure of how to proceed. Let me summarize my relevant information:

MCAT: PS-12/VR-10/BS-14 (written in July 2012)

First Application  (September 2013)

GPA: 3.677/4.0

wGPA (Queens): 3.805/4.0

wGPA (Toronto): 3.888/4.0

wGPA (Ottawa): 3.758/4.0