Premed 101 Forums

Career Change From Engineer? Is Medical School Within Reach For Me?

Hi guys,

I wanted to ask for an advice on my situation.

I graduated from University of Waterloo with a Computer Engineering degree in 2012, am 26 years old, and have been working in California. When I was in undergrad I wanted to start making money as soon as possible, and medical school wasn't something that I considered. Now that I'm about 2 1/2 years into full time work, I'm starting to realize that I actually don't need this money after all, as my interests don't lie on things that I need a lot of money for. This plus the fact that I had some life events in which I really thought that would've helped if I'd been a doctor got me interested in this career path.

Here are my undergrad stats (% converted using omsas gpa, I think I'm burned a little since a lot of my marks are on the border like 89, 84):

Year 1 (1A & 1B): 2.80

Year 2 (2A & 2B): 3.20

Year 3 (3A & 3B): 3.78

Year 4 (4A & 4B): 3.96

I have a pretty bad average in my first and second year, but luckily I turned it around in 3rd and 4th year a bit. I don't have any ECs other than the Waterloo co-op experiences that are mostly technical (do these even count as ECs?). I also haven't taken any medical school prerequisites. I didn't take a biology course since highschool and the only chemistry course I took in college was in my first year when my average was bad. I am willing to put in the work to score well on the MCATs, but I feel like the lack of ECs will be a disqualify me from the get-go. 

From reading the forums I think I have two options if I want to pursue medical school in Canada:

1) start racking up ECs now, score well on MCATs, apply to schools that doesn't have pre-reqs.

2) do a second degree plus 1)

Honestly I'd much prefer to do 1), but I am not even a resident in Canada anymore at the moment, so I'm not sure if its even worth trying. Do you guys think its best for me to go with route 2)?