Premed 101 Forums

Situation.... Share Your Story - Below 3.8 Gpa!

So this is my case...

Always wanted to be an MD... but like everyone have to do an undergrad...so I did nursing.

I graduated from nursing 2014 - so I am currently an RN (working part-time) BUT apparently 3 yrs of nursing do NOT COUNT because of the pass/fail for the clinical components.

So after graduating i went into psyc...i am currently a psyc student as well (full time) and will get a second degree next year but I am doing the pre-reqs within this degree.

PROBLEM is...i suck at chemistry...like really bad. so basically my gpa is 3.6/4

I do have 2 medical papers published though in medical journals with MD's (I am involved in a lot of research -researcher- apart from being a nurse).

seeing my GPA and having one more semester to go where i need to get all A+'s if i want at least a 3.65/4 makes me so anxious - which i know shouldnt be because at the end whats meant to be is meant to be - just work hard and have faith in God.

BUT doesnt Hurt hearing out other peoples situations where it all seemed cloudy and dark before the sunlight came through - ie got accepted into MD school with lower than a 3.8 gpa

I'm still in undergrad as well, but I do know that the average GPA's at Dal and MUN are generally 3.8, and I don't think MAC is far off, but there's a lot of other factors to consider, and I'm not sure how if those schools have actual cutoffs. Some schools are out for sure, but if your a resident of a place besides ON (based on the past averages) people get in all the time with 3.8

it just feels like everyone has a 3.95+ sometimes...

I'm still in undergrad, but hopefully I'll be able to share my low GPA story one day :)

My first year GPA was 2.78