Premed 101 Forums

Question About Non-Academic Stuff At U Of C Med.

Hi Everyone, 

I've posted on this site a long time ago. Its great to have a resource like this available for older non-traditional people like myself who will be applying to medicine in the future.  I plan on applying to the U of C MD program in a few years after doing some academic upgrading.  I'm in my early 30's with a couple of B.Sc.'s in molecular bio and nursing.   I can only apply to the U of C due to the 10 year exclusion rule.  My GPA in my nursing degree was atrocious as I'm a science guy and nursing, when took it, was very fluffy/airy-fairy.  It didn't seem to matter how much I studied, my grades were always crappy.

I have a question regarding how the U of C views employment vs. volunteering experience. I've been an RN/coordinator for the past several years.  I have been fortunate to work in a wide variety of different areas including everything from ER to transplants to critical care.  I'm also a clinical instructor with the Faculty Nursing on a part time basis.   My jobs are awesome! They are rewarding and I really enjoy them.  To give you guys an idea, here are an approximate number of hours I have in various health care settings:

- Critical care (a variety of critical care settings): > 10 000 hours

- Transplant Coordinator(mostly liver) :  > 3000 hours   

- med/surge RN: 300-400 hours

- ER: 100-200 hours.

- Clinical instructor: 300-400 hours.