Premed 101 Forums

Help needed please

Guest Alexa

Hi! I am currently in 3rd year at UofT (just finished 1st semester) and am hoping to get into med school after 4th year. However, my GPA is really low (3.24 in 1st year and 2.93 in 2nd year). I am doing okay so far in 3rd year. I know I can apply to UWO and Queens after 4th year (I did the MCAT and got 10V,8P,10B,Q; I am doing it again this August). Is there anything I can do to increase my chances of applying to the other schools? I love research work but I don't want to wait till I finish graduate school to apply. Any advice would be appreciated.

Guest Shahenshah

well if you can totally kick ass this year, that will give you a really good shot at UWO when you apply next year..but of course you probably knew that by now..as for the other schools, I believe U of calgary might also pick only 2 yrs..and there might be a few more that others can shed light on..for eg., manitoba will get rid of some of your worst marks and so on..you should probably just browse through the canadian med school requirements just so that you don't miss any..this forum has links to pretty much all schools in canada...another option would be the states (and of course off-shore schools)..if you have no problem with living in the states, you can probably apply to D.O schools as well..A D.O is almost equivalent to an MD program in that you can practice as a physician (as of now I am not aware of any restricitions on D.O)...there is some stigma associated with DOs but I mean really at the end of the day you can treat the patients..the reason I brought up DOs was because they require a lower gpa than med schools..if you want more info on this option, www.studentdoctor.net/ is an excellent resource...just one more important thing here about DOs is that you CANNOT transfer to Canada and practice as a physician (yet)

Guest doctorfunk